Since 2008, LAO has also organized the collateral exhibition “Preziosa Young”, dedicated to emerging artists selected through an international competition.

The aim is to contribute to the circulation of what is new in research jewellery, as well as showcase what the new generations of goldsmiths/designers/artists are “brewing”.

Thanks to the seriousness of intent, to the visibility and promotion deals to selected artists, and to the high profile of the jury, PYOUNG has become a prestigious worldwide event. Every year we select a small number of artists by assessing the material that the candidates submit to us: a concise presentation of their research and images of their work. The jury doesn’t know the participants’ names, countries of origin or the schools they have attended, and have to choose the winners on the basis of the originality of their research, the formal quality of the jewellery, and the coherence between concept and objects.

Prizes and Recognition

The participants in the competition do not pay an entry fee and the winners do not receive any financial prize. LAO produces a catalogue and the works are exhibited at the PREZIOSA event, during which many other artists are present. In this way the young artists have the opportunity to present their research in an international-level artistic environment.

Thanks to a collaboration agreement between LAO and the Inhorgenta fair, one of the selected artists is awarded free exhibition space there during the following edition of the fair.

LAO offers one of the winners a three-month stay in Florence as “artist in residence”.

Selected Artists 2008-2024

Sally Collins, Eva Franceschini, Sina Emrich, Fuchi Arata, Daniela Hedman, Mirjam Hiller, Vaishali Ashok Morjaria, Ka-thryn Partington, Claudia Rinneberg, Sonja Christine Seidl, Julia Walter, Daniel Di Caprio, Estela Vilanova Saez, Lisa Grassivaro, Nora Rochel, Pia Pasalk, Sharon Massey, Taisuke Nakada, Tamsin Leighton-Boyce, Melissa Cameron, Eve Cheryl, Yoshie Enda, Adam Grinovich, Monica Haneckova, Erin Keys, Sooyeon Kim, Sachiko Shouji, Sam Hamilton, Hanna Hedman, Lisa Juen, Heejoo Kim, Seul-Gi Kwon, Marie Pendariès, Elena Ruebel, Wan Hee Cho, Rob Elford, Be-nedikt Fischer, Panjapol Kulpapangkorn, Chiara Scarpitti, Antje Stolz, Lauren Vanessa Tickle, Sang Deok Han, Jie Sun, Tithi Kutchamuch, Seoyeon Lee, Fang Jin Yeh, Qian Wang, Shachar Cohen, Xiaodai Huang, Yajie Hu, Koen Jacobs, Jongseok Lim, Elwy Schutten, Chia-Hsien Lin, Zihan Yang, Marie Masson, Jess Tolbert, Rachael Colley, Dongyi Wu, Xinia Guan, Anne Lahn Hornbæk Hansen, Pilynn Siriphanich, Charlotte Vanhoubroeck, Zhipeng Wang, Hasan Kurd, Xinyi Chen, Maria Camera-Smith.

Jury 2008 – 2021

Artists, art curators, gallerists, critics, journalists, fair management, bloggers, teachers who took part to the jury for the selection of the winners along the years

Maria Cristina Bergesio, Giò Carbone, Charon Kransen, Katja Prins, Barbara Schmidt, Petra Hölscher, Slawomir Fijalkowski, Graziano Visintin, Olga Zobel-Biro, Robert Baines, Mari Ishikawa, Johanna Dahm, Wolfang Lösche, Vera Siemund, Oliviero Toscani, Dora Liscia Bemporad, Inger Wästberg, Martina Dempf, Christel Trinborn, Pilar Garrigosa, Petra Marin, Michèle Heuzé, Shreedevi Deshpande Puri, Giampaolo Babetto, Stefano Marchetti, Maurizio Stagni, Helen Britton, Angelika Wildegger, Evert Nijland, Antonella Villanova, Francesca Mercanti, Tasso Mattar, Maria Rosa Franzin, Robert Mazlo, Irene Belfi, Giovanni Corvaja, Eugenia Gadaleta, Kazumi Nagano, Cóilín O’Dubhghaill, Renzo Pasquale, Carla Riccoboni, Sam Tho Duong, Alice Rendon, Maria Laura La Mantia, Doreen Timmers Pijnenburg, Laura Helena Aureli, Qiana Wang, Lauren Kalman, Conversation Piece (Beatrice Brovia & Nicolas Cheng), Giò Carbone, Alice Rendon, Conversation pieces, Lauren Kalman, Doreen Timmers, Laura Helena Aureli, Qiana Wang, Maria Laura La Mantia.


.free-du-plugin-header .free-menu-row.et_pb_row { indice z: 10! importante; } .page-id-3964 #et-main-area { padding-top: 100px; }